The TEFL course content is divided into five parts: Pedagogy Theory, Language Awareness, Teaching Skills, Cultural Awareness and Life Skills.

Course Content and Structure

The Via Lingua Course Curriculum

 Pedagogy-Language Awareness-Teaching Skills-Culture-Life Skills


The Via Lingua CTEFL course comprises five components:TEFL Course Structure

  • Pedagogy theory
  • Language awareness
  • Teaching skills
  • Cultural awareness
  • Life skills

Each component comprises a set of standardized statements of competence, accompanied by indicators of success. The indicators describe the skills, knowledge and qualities associated with effective teachers of English as a Foreign Language. The standardized statements of competence are as follows:

Pedagogy Theory

  • Describe a range of teaching methodologies, approaches and strategies
  • Describe the skills, knowledge and qualities which characterize an effective teacher
  • Describe the factors which influence the establishment of an effective learning environment
  • Describe a range of strategies for supporting, monitoring and assessing student progress

Language Awareness

  • Describe the purposes and nature of Communication
  • Describe key features in relation to the structure of the English language
  • Describe and explain the English tense system and other, commonly taught, grammatical features
  • Describe how sounds are made and modified and use phonetic symbols to describe the sounds of English

Teaching Skills

  • Design and prepare effective lessons
  • Prepare and manage the physical learning environment and use resources in an appropriate way
  • Provide innovative and flexible learning experiences for individuals and groups of students
  • Create learning environments that are student-centered, challenging and safe

Cultural Awareness

  • Engage in the process of learning a foreign language
  • Demonstrate an awareness of the issues in relation to culture and language teaching
  • Demonstrate a willingness to foster positive relationships with members of the local community
  • Demonstrate an awareness of cultural similarities and differences and our shared cultural heritage

Life Skills

  • Demonstrate effective interpersonal skills
  • Demonstrate effective communication skills
  • Demonstrate effective decision-making skills
  • Demonstrate effective organizational skills
  • Demonstrate effective financial skills
  • Demonstrate effective employment awareness skills
  • Demonstrate effective legal awareness skills
  • Demonstrate effective personal welfare skills

Each component of the Via Lingua program is allocated a minimum number of study hours. These study hours mainly involve:

  • direct contact with trainers or mentors in workshop sessions, planning meetings, lesson preparation or review meetings;
  • direct contact with students during teaching practice sessions;
  • private study and preparation;
  • record keeping and personal reflection linked to the maintenance of a professional portfolio.

TEFL Course Content

The content of each of the five components can be described as follows:

Pedagogy Theory

  • Teaching and learning a foreign language
  • Language teaching methodologies
  • The syllabusTEFL Teaching and learning a foreign language
  • The effective teacher   
  • Classroom management skills
  • Language teaching materials
  • Lesson planning
  • Teaching receptive skills
  • Teaching productive skills (speaking)
  • Teaching vocabulary
  • Teaching pronunciation
  • Teaching grammar
  • Responding to mistakes and errors
  • Language games
  • The assessment of language learners

Language Awareness

  • The purpose and nature of communication
  • Word classes
  • Verb types and verb forms
  • The tense system
  • The present simple tense and the present continuous tense
  • The past simple tense, the past continuous tense, the past perfect tense (simple and continuous)
  • The present perfect tense (simple and continuous)
  • Expressing the futureTEFL qualification
  • Conditional sentences
  • The passive voice
  • Gerunds and infinitives
  • Modal auxiliary verbs
  • Multi-word verbs
  • Phonology

Teaching Skills

  • Six hours of observing experienced teachers
  • Eight hours of assessed teaching practice (*groups and or individual students)
  • Sixteen hours of supported lesson preparation time
  • Eight hours of post-lesson discussions

Cultural Awareness

  • The cross-cultural dimension of language teaching
  • The Group Project

Life SkillsTEFL coaching

  • Interpersonal skills
  • Communication skills
  • Decision-making skills
  • Organizational skills
  • Financial awareness skills
  • Employment awareness skills
  • Legal awareness skills
  • Personal welfare skills




 TEFL course structure and syllabus




Back to top